2022 UNHCR NGO Innovation Award for Refugee-led Organizations.

2022 UNHCR NGO Innovation Award for Refugee-led Organizations.


The UNHCR’s NGO Innovation Award (“the Award”) celebrates the efforts and accomplishments of NGOs who developed innovative approaches for protection and delivery of services to refugees and other persons of concern to UNHCR.


UNHCR, via this Award, seeks to identify and recognize the new and creative approaches that can result in better protection and delivery of service to the communities we serve and amplify the acts of solidarity and innovation in an age of increasing uncertainty and disruption.

The Award 2022

  • The 2022 Award will focus on women-led organizations and girl-led organizations (WLOs) working with or supporting refugees, internally displaced persons, returnees, stateless persons and host communities. 
  • The Award will prioritize the organizations created or led by refugees and other persons of concern to UNHCR, but is also open to other community-based women-led organizations working in forced displacement context.
  • This focus on women-led organizations seeks to award organizations that hold strong organizational values, principles, and commitments to gender equality and accountability to women and girls, as well as those that promote women in positions of leadership.



The organizations are eligible to be considered if they meet the following criteria:

They are women-led or girl-led

They are working in forced displacement context;

They work at the local, grassroot level

They have developed innovative approaches in their work


  • Seven (7) winning organisations, one each in UNHCR’s regions, will receive $15,000 each to help support their innovation work that strives to uphold and improve challenges around gender equity and accountability to women and girls.

Winners will be selected on the following criteria: 1) the understanding and clarity of the challenge, 2) the novelty of the solution, 3) the inclusion of women and/or girls in designing the solution, and 4) the achieved impact or intended impact of the project.


15 January 2022:

Deadline for submission of nominations

March 2022:

Announcement of Winners

June 2022:

Award Ceremony

UNHCR reserves the right to change the information shown on this website without prior notification.

Application Deadline:15 January 2022

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like